Hay for My Ox and Other Stories

A first reading book for Waldorf schools

Edited by Isabel Wyatt and Joan Rudel


Illustrated with beautiful watercolor and black & white drawings.


This classic early reading book for Waldorf schools is now available again in a newly edited edition. The stories and poems range in style and content from the fairy-tale elements of Class 1 (ages 6 to 7) to the legends and animal fables introduced in Class 2 (ages 7 to 8).

Generally, Hay for My Ox is introduced as a reader at about the middle of Grade 2 and is used through Grade 3.  Students will need to have a good command of decoding skills as well as recognition of basic sentence structure.

Rhythmical repetition of words, sounds, and phrases is used throughout the book but especially widely in the tales for younger children.  The stories themselves are engaging and beautifully written.

Includes: “The Prince Who Kept Pigs”; “The Tree of Three Cries”; “The Giant and the Child”; “The Fork Tail and the Rams”; and “The Monkey and the Pea.”

Be the first to write a review

Comments feed for this article